McAULEY SCHENKER GROUP – Unplugged Live [Cherry Red / Hear No Evil remaster +4]

McAULEY SCHENKER GROUP - Unplugged Live [Cherry Red / Hear No Evil remaster +4] full

As requested, here’s McAULEY SCHENKER GROUPUnplugged Live [Cherry Red / Hear No Evil remaster +4]“. Recorded in California during a tour with a completely acoustic set, this is the final release of the McAuley Schenker Group, which disbanded in 1993.
This Cherry Red Records remastered reissue includes as bonus tracks the complete, Japan only (out of print) mini-album “Nightmare: The Acoustic MSG”.

After making his debut at a mere 17 years on the Scorpions first LP Lonesome Crow in 1972, guitar maestro and mad axe-man Michael Schenker spent five years as lead guitarist with the inimitable UFO, before forming the Michael Schenker Group (MSG for short) with singer Gary Barden in 1979. With four studio albums and two live records under his belt released on Chrysalis Records between 1980 and 1984, Schenker returned in 1987 for the “Perfect Timing” album, now with former Grand Prix / Far Corporation singer Robin McAuley, and a change of name to the McAuley Schenker Group, but still conveniently shortened to MSG.

The new look MSG recorded a total of four albums, starting with the most melodic and AOR-friendly “Perfect Timing” (1987), “Save Yourself” (1989), the more guitar driven “M.S.G.” (1992) and finally with this “Unplugged Live” (1992).

McAULEY SCHENKER GROUP - Unplugged Live [Cherry Red / Hear No Evil remaster +4] disc

Thanks in part to MTV’s popular “unplugged” series of TV broadcasts and subsequent albums and videos, going acoustic was certainly very much de rigueur in the early ’90s, which leads us to the fourth and last album by this pairing; 1992’s “Unplugged Live”.

As well as key McAuley Schenker Group songs such as ‘When I’m Gone’, ‘Anytime’ or ‘We Believe In Love’, the album features three UFO classics; ‘Natural Thing’, ‘Doctor Doctor’ and ‘Lights Out’.
The album features Shark Island guitarist Spencer Sercombe on second guitar and backing vocals, while Schenker show his abilities on nylon strings as crazy as with electric guitar and McAuley’s pristine performances demonstrates why he’s one of the most underrated ’80s vocalists.

McAULEY SCHENKER GROUP - Unplugged Live [Cherry Red / Hear No Evil remaster +4] back

The bonus tracks are unique acoustic studio versions of ‘Anytime’, ‘We Believe In Love’, ‘What Happens To Me’ and ‘Bad Boys’, all taken from the “unplugged in the studio” Japanese only mini-album “Nightmare: The Acoustic MSG”, a collectors item.
HIGHLY Recommended


01 – Anytime
02 – We Believe In Love
03 – What Happens To Me
04 – Bad Boys
05 – Gimme Your Love
06 – Natural Thing
07 – Perrier
08 – When I’m Gone
09 – Nightmare
10 – Doctor Doctor
11 – Lights Out
12 – Anytime (‘Nightmare: The Acoustic M.S.G.’)
13 – We Believe In Love (‘Nightmare: The Acoustic M.S.G.’)
14 – What Happens To Me (‘Nightmare: The Acoustic M.S.G.’)
15 – Bad Boys (‘Nightmare: The Acoustic M.S.G.’)

Robin McAuley – vocals
Michael Schenker – lead and rhythm guitars
Spencer Sercombe – 12 / 6 string rhythm guitars, background vocals


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.