ANTHEM – Crimson & Jet Black (2023)

ANTHEM - Crimson & Jet Black (2023) - full

Leading Japanese Heavy Metal band ANTHEM have used the pandemic downtime wisely and are now ready to unleash their brand new studio album called “Crimson & Jet Black“. All songs are once again performed in English, and the album will see a global release. After finishing not one, but two anniversary tours in 2021 (= the band’s 35th anniversary tour, which had been postponed due to the pandemic restrictions, as well the 20th anniversary of their reunion tour entitled “ANTHEM vs ANTHEM 2001”), ANTHEM pursued this new album to jumpstart their next chapter.
Originally scheduled to be completed in the Spring of 2022, the band’s leader Naoto Shibata, being the perfectionist that he is, decided to enrich the songs’ quality even more and pushed back the recording schedule to Summer / Autumn, so that pure brilliance may unfold.
Just like on past albums Naoto is the main producer but this time renowned Swedish producer Jens Bogren (known for his work with the likes of Arch Enemy, Opeth, to name but a few) is credited as a co-producer providing ANTHEM with international updated sonics. Topping each of their past works has been ANTHEM’s goal for the 21st century, and they’ve outdone themselves yet again with this album.
“Crimson & Jet Black” is unmistakably “ANTHEM”, yet it sounds fresh at the same time. Somehow a cross between Loudness and Accept, ANTHEM 2023 sounds polished, melodic and focused.


01 – Snake Eyes
02 – Wheels Of Fire
03 – Howling Days
04 – Roaring Vortex
05 – Blood Brothers
06 – Master Of Disaster
07 – Void Ark
08 – Faster
09 – Burning Down The Wall
10 – Mystic Echoes
11 – Danger Flight

Yukio Morikawa (lead vocals)
Akio Shimizu (guitars)
Naoto Shibata (bass, vocals)
Isamu Tamaru (drums)


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.