PAULINE GILLAN BAND – Hearts Of Fire (1985) [Cherry Red Records reissue] (2023)

PAULINE GILLAN BAND - Hearts Of Fire (1985) [Cherry Red Records reissue] (2023) - full

Yes, she is the sister of Deep Purple’s vocalist. Pauline Gillan wrote her own songs, but never tried riding to success on the coat-tails of her elder brother, which perhaps explains why she’s spent so long in the doldrums trying to get things right before finally emerging with her group Northern Dancer in the latter part of 1984.
For the PAULINE GILLAN BAND, the vocalist assembled as strong band consisting of experienced musicians: ex-Avenue guitarist Dave Bell, ex-Glacier bassist / keyboardist Chris Wing, ex-Axis guitarist Dave Little and former Avenue drummer Keith Naylor, before recording their fist EP.
Soon after Pauline signed a deal with small York label Powerstation for the release of a full blown album, ”Hearts Of Fire”, the following year. Now Cherry Red Records is digitally reissuing that lost album.
‘Adept and masterly melodic rock’, enthused legendary Derek ‘Del Boy’ Oliver journalist about ”Hearts Of Fire”. Here we have a 1985-sounding female fronted band pumping out emotive high energy songs – full of sturdy guitar work and strategic keyboard stabs.

Among the highlights there’s ‘Love Hurts showcasing Pauline’s strong voice, ‘Lady Of The Night’ with a prominent keyboard arrangement and powers through a midtempo hard rocking treat, as well as the prodding ‘Rain Rain’ with its song ending drum solo. Then catchy AOR elements work their way into ‘Stop Messin’ My Heart Around’ and ‘Fire In My Life’.

PAULINE GILLAN BAND performed several gigs around UK however after a year the group parted ways. The album never was officially reissued on CD simply because the original master tapes were lost. This Cherry Red Records reissue source is vinyl, but at least we can enjoy again this enjoyable slice of mid-80s British melodic rock / AOR.
Highly Recommended


01 – Love Hurts
02 – You Got Me Running
03 – Lady Of The Night
04 – Stop Messin’ My Heart Around
05 – Fantasia
06 – Rain Rain
07 – Fire In My Life
08 – Can You Feel It

Pauline Gillan – Vocals
Dave Bell – Guitars
Dave Little – Guitars
Chris Wing – Bass, Keyboards
Keith Naylor – Drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.