STORM – Storm [Rock Candy remastered +5]

STORM - Storm [Rock Candy remastered +5] full

Founded by the married couple of Lear Stevens and Jeanette Chase, STORM released a total of two great Melodic Hard Rock albums, both remastered by Rock Candy Records specialists.
Their debut simply titled “Storm” includes 5 bonus tracks in this excellent reissue (first time on CD).
The late Seventies were a veritable playground for female fronted melodic hard rock (Heart, Pat Benatar, 1994 and The Runaways being just a few examples) and critics faves Storm were, no exception.
Originating from Orange County on the outskirts of Los Angeles, acclaimed singer Jeanette Chase led a band rich in both melody and muscle honing and refining their biggest, mainly British, influences including Queen, Led Zeppelin and the Sweet.

Earnestly working the live circuit, the band’s dedication and originality paid off when they signed a record deal with ABC-Dunhill only to find their new label collapsing around their ears.

STORM - Storm [Rock Candy remastered +5] booklet

Absorbed by the giant MCA Corporation, they eventually unleashed this debut album to enormous critical acclaim but, sadly, for reasons not of their own making, the album sank without trace leaving the band to retrench and rethink before relaunching in the ’80s on Capitol Records.

Feted, at the time, by those who heard its content, Storm’s debut is now regarded as one of the first female-fronted hard rock albums and considered a cult classic laced with both class and precision.
Imagine the early Queen hard rock side mixed with Blondie on steroids. The band rocks with melody on ‘I Want You’, ‘Wake Up’ or ‘Hyperdrive’, you have a really edgy sound in ‘Young Young’ and the thundering ‘Machine Gun’, then there’s a cool ballad in ‘You Pity Me’.

STORM - Storm [Rock Candy remastered +5] back

First time on CD and with a bright 24-bit remastering from original source tapes, huge story of Storm liner notes, tons of additional photos & memorabilia spread out over a 16 page full colour booklet and 5 previously unreleased bonus – 3 of them non album tracks – this Rock Candy release is superb.
Highly Recommended


01 – I Want You
02 – Tell Me That You Love Me
03 – What Do You Like
04 – Game’s Over
05 – You Pity Me
06 – Ain’t That The Way
07 – Wake Up
08 – Young Young
09 – Shoot On Sight
10 – Hyperdrive
11 – Machine Gun
12 – I Want You (demo)
13 – What Do You Like (demo)
14 – Ordinary Dreamer (non-LP demo)
15 – Dyin’ Breed (non-LP demo)
16 – Half Lover (non-LP demo)

Jeanette Chase – Vocals, Keyboards
Lear Stevens – Guitar
Ronni Hansen – Bass
David Devon – Drums



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Alex says:

    Very Thanks !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.