TRAGIK – And We All Turn To Dust (2010)

Phil Vincent’s band TRAGIK comes with a new album, a collection of tunes that visits an eclectic variety of styles from milder AOR and melodic rock to metal-like hard rock.

The opener ‘Overture 3′ provides a point of difference to what you’d normally find opening up a hard rock CD, with a symphonic and at times bombastic opening instrumental sequence.
Boston meets Mastedon perhaps? of course they did something equally unusual on last years album too.

Movin’ on, ‘Jaded’ is the first rocker to land on our plate, an uptempo rocker with good use of vocal harmonies and hard driving drum work.
‘Can’t Find The Words’ is an intense mid-tempo affair with a (dare I say it) House Of Lords styled thickness applied.
‘Black And White’ is for all of those who are spectrally challenged, a fast paced rocker that is quite sad-sack in terms of the lyrics.. it’s about a guy who’s lost his missus… ‘all the color is gone in my life.. all I see is black and white’.
‘At The Shore’ is quite a cruisy number, lots of flanging guitar and seashore sound effects, occasionally it’ll beef up a bit.
‘Before It’s Gone’ is a pleasant number, ‘Long Way From Home’ is a bit slower tempo with AOR ideals, topped off by Phil’s Rik Emmett’s flavored mid-range falsetto.
The closer ‘Nothing’ features Billy Roux on most of the instruments, Billy has appeared on some of Phil’s previous recordings.

Tragik continues to deliver some quality material, and even though the lider Phil Vincent considers themselves to be the best unknown band around, you’ll find that continued exposure on sites like this plus other similar sites, will make that statement redundant over time.

01 – Overture III
02 – Jaded
03 – Can’t Find The Words
04 – Black & White
05 – Giving In
06 – At The Shore
07 – Before It’s Gone
08 – Long Way From Home
09 – Shadows Of Loneliness
10 – Nothing

Phil Vincent – vocals, bass, keyboards
Damian D’Ercole – guitars, percussion
Dirk Phillips – drums, keyboards
Billy Roux – guitars, bass, drums on ‘Nothing’


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.