JOHN PARR – Letter To America 2-CD (2011)

John Parr, who is a native of England, first found fame in America with the AOR song he is probably best known for, ‘St. Elmo’s Fire (Man in Motion)’ , the popular ’80s tune that he wrote and performed for the movie of the same title.
Around that same time, he had another hit song that climbed the charts, called ‘Naughty, Naughty’. As a Grammy-nominated singer and songwriter, he has enjoyed a long and successful career as a musician in the US and all over the world.

After a 15 year hiatus, Parr is returning to his second home for an extensive tour, to celebrate his new album titled “Letter To America”.
The 2-CD release features some of his popular hits from years gone by, as “The Minute I Saw You” and “The Best a Man Can Get”, and a variety of new songs as well.
Produced by Parr, the first audio disc showcases Parr with his band performing fan favorites including Parr’s #1 hit “St. Elmo’s Fire” and the unforgettable hit “Naughty Naughty”.
This live recording sounds really big and polished, and on many tracks rocks seriously, with potent guitars and big reverberated drums.
John’s vocals are still in good form, and the selection of songs spawns the best of his solo work.

The second audio disc features acoustic versions of some classics, and new songs.
This is a really interesting disc, as we can hear here stripped arrangements of these, at one time (’80s – ’90s) super-produced songs. And the good result demonstrates how good are those tunes. A good song is a good song, no matter how much a producer can embellish it with studio tricks.
John also wrote “Comin’ Home” exclusively about his journey back to America to play his music. This is an inspirational and touching melody not only about John’s journey home to America but everyone’s heartfelt journey back to their home’s and loved ones after having ventured away.
Also included is “Ghost Driver” (full band studio produced track), one of his ’90s songs full of magic, with atmospheric keyboards and awesome guitars.

If you love the ’80s, “Letter To America” is a must have.
Includes all Parr hits, new songs, and newly re-worked versions carefully recorded and organically produced.
The St. Elmo’s Fire still burns.

CD1 – Live
01 – Come Out Fighting
02 – Somebody Stole My Thunder
03 – Time
04 – Man with a Vision
05 – Dirty Lovin’
06 – Secrets
07 – Two Hearts
08 – The Natural Thing
09 – Restless Heart
10 – World Keep Turnin’
11 – Naughty Naughty
12 – Steal You Away
13 – It’s Startin’ All Over Again
14 – Love in a Layby
15 – Under a Raging Moon
16 – St Elmo’s Fire

CD2 – Acoustic & New
01 – Dream On
02 – The Best
03 – Naughty Naughty
04 – Bedsit Paradise
05 – The Minute I Saw You
06 – Comin’ Home
07 – Practice
08 – Firework
09 – At the Cathedral
10 – Oh Well
11 – St Elmo’s Fire
12 – Letter to America
13 – Ghost Driver


You’ve seen it here first, at 0dayrock

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.