DREW ZINGG – ST (2012)

DREW ZINGG - ST (2012) mp3 download


If you haven’t heard of Drew Zingg yet, you are not alone.

Outside of the music industry and die-hard guitar aficionados, he hasn’t exactly been a household name, but that might be about to change, because Zingg has just released last December his self titled debut album.

And believe me, you won’t forget his amazing class after listening this wonderful CD.

But Drew Zingg’s career isn’t so obscure, in fact, if you’ve seen Boz Scaggs, Michael McDonald and even Steely Dan in concert at some point over the past twenty years, chances are you’ve witnessed guitarist Drew’s playing.

He’s also the soaring six-string player on Boz Scaggs’ fantastic ‘Greatest Hits Live’ CD/DVD.

Born and raised in New York City, Zingg earned his reputation as a guitarist that knows no boundaries when it comes to musical styles.

During the mid 1990s he was lead guitarist and musical director for Steely Dan. He also served as lead guitarist and musical director for New York Rock and Soul Revue, an aggregate of notable artists that included Donald Fagen and Walter Becker (of Steely Dan), Michael McDonald (of the Doobie Brothers), Boz Scaggs, and Grammy winner Patti Austin.

Zingg also played Broadway, sitting in the pit as the lead guitarist for shows including Jersey Boys, Spamalot, Mama Mia!, and Hairspray. The New York Times, New York Post and a long list of others sang very high praises.

All of this, and Guitar Magazine still called him one of the 12 ‘best guitarists you’ve never heard of’.

Now Drew’s incredible tone and innovative guitar style has finally been recorded for his self titled debut. After four years on the drawing board the collection of songs has been completed thanks to the extraordinary dedication of lifelong friend, musician, engineer and producer George Petit.

From the beginning of the first track, the instrumental “Megashine City” (courtesy of Donald Fagen & Walter Becker), the quality within this gathering becomes apparent as the music settles into the groove.

The next track is a completely original take on the Commodores hit “Easy” (also covered by Faith No More years ago) featuring lead vocals from Michael McDonald. The tasty West Coast modulations within the new arrangement makes the song more of a reinvention than a cover.

“One-Off” (composed by George Whitty) features great interplay between Zingg’s fretwork, Whitty’s B-3 Hammond and the snap horn section while Will Lee and monster Vinnie Colaiuta lock down the hairpin beat.

Boz Scaggs also graces the project with a fresh vocal take on Buddy Johnson’s “Save Your Love For Me” that Scaggs had originally cut on his ‘Speak Low’ album.

Other great tracks include “Cactus”, “Downstream” (featuring George Whitty on vocals), “Dear Lord, What The Hell Are Ya Trying To Say?”, “Two Steps From The Blues” (w/Christine Lynch on vocals), “Tennessee Street” and “You Make It Right (When It Rains)” (with a beautiful lead vocal from Monet Owens.)

“Drew Zingg” is a brilliant album, a delicious slice of delicate melodies driven by the soaring, tasteful guitar playing & sound from one of the most underrated and unknown guitarists of the US scene.

Together, Zingg & Petit assembled an outstanding core band to bring the incredible variety of music to life; George Whitty on keyboards, Will Lee on bass, Vinnie Colaiuta on drums, Bob Merrill & David Smith on trumpets, Eric Crystal & David Mann on sax and George Petit on additional guitar for track two.

The songs on “Drew Zingg” give all the instruments plenty of room to stretch out and breath. Zingg delivers masterful performances that contain an honesty and authenticity that can be infinitely appreciated through enjoyable repeated plays.

Fans of Classic Rock, L.A. WestCoast and all the artists featured on this disc are in for a real treat on this one. Pure Class.

Strongly Recommended.

01. Megashine City

02. Easy (vocals: Michael McDonald)

03. One Off

04. The Black Dog

05. Save Your Love For Me (vocals: Boz Scaggs)

06. Cactus

07. Downstream (vocals: George Whitty)

08. Two Steps From The Blues (vocals: Christine Lynch)

09. Dear Lord, What The Hell Are You Trying To Say?

10. Tennessee Street

11. You Make It Right When It Rains (vocals: Monet Owens)

12. Highway 86

Drew Zingg – Guitar on all tracks

George Walker Petit – Acoustic & Trem guitars on track 4

Will Lee – Bass on all tracks

George Whitty – Keyboards, Hammond B-3, Lead Vocal on 7

Vinnie Colaiuta – Drums on all tracks

David Mann, Eric Crystal, Bob Merrill, David Smith – Horns

Michael McDonald – Lead Vocals on track 2

Boz Scaggs – Lead Vocals on track 5

Christine Lynch – Lead Vocals on track 8

Monet Owens – Lead Vocal on track 11, Background Vocals



1 Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.