JIMMY MARTIN – Berlin (2016)

JIMMY MARTIN - Berlin (2016) full

Berlin” is the new album from singer JIMMY MARTIN, known by AOR fans for his lovely records Kids Of The Rockin Nation and The Rhythm Of Life. Lately Martin has been in the singles-only release schedule, including cooperation with Robin Beck (‘I Wish You Here Tonight’) or Rick Springfield and a duet of his hit ‘Love Somebody’, plus several own compositions.
“Berlin” compiles all these singles appeared in the last decade into a CD plus several bonus tracks.

After recording an album with melodic hard rockers Fisc, Jimmy Martin moved from his native Luxembourg to Los Angeles at the age of 19 to become a professional musician. Just having arrived there, he quickly became a part of the local music scene and started playing in several bands.
This was the beginning of Jimmy’s career, which has hugely developed not only as an artist, but also as a well known and respected composer and producer, having worked with the likes of Clif Magness and Desmond Child.

But since several years ago Jimmy Martin is established in Germany, hence the title of the album as tribute to the city where he work and record.
Also, Martin works in relationship with the Eurovision Rock franchise with his singles having charted there and heard all over Europe.
So expect a catchy mix of rock&pop sound with melodic rockers on “Berlin”.

We have a freshly recorded cover of The Knack’s classic “My Sharona”, a modern melodic rocker in “Live Your Dream” (akin Bon Jovi), an irresistible version of ‘Love Somebody’ in a duet with Rick Springfield, and a beautiful ballad on ‘I Wish You Here Tonight’ with Robin Beck.

JIMMY MARTIN - Berlin (2016) back

There’s as well good melodic rockers in ‘Born to Run’ (an original, not a Bruce Springsteen cover), and ‘Break Free’, again, not a cover of Queen’s famous song but an original composition with a cool midtempo feeling.
As bonus, Jimmy offers several remixes of ‘My Sharona’, ‘Love Somebody’ and ‘Superhero’, some being unnecessary, but you know, it doesn’t hurt.

In the vein of Rick Springfield, Cheap Trick, Bon Jovi, Dion Bayman, etc, “Berlin” delivers very nice stuff with an ’80s spirit and a modern sound.

01 – My Sharona (feat. Tony Corleone)
02 – Live Your Dream
03 – Love Somebody (feat. Rick Springfield)
04 – Born to Run
05 – Love Don’t Live Here Anymore
06 – Superhero
07 – I Wish You Here Tonight (feat. Robin Beck)
08 – Break Free
09 – My Sharona (Extended Club Remix)
10 – My Sharona (Short Club Remix)
11 – My Sharona (Remix Version)
12 – Love Somebody (Radio Dance Mix)
13 – Love Somebody (Extended Rock Mix)
14 – Love Don’t Live Here Anymore (Acoustic Version)
15 – Superhero (Rock Mix)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.