KISS – The Solo Albums ; Gene Simmons [Japan SHM-CD remastered Limited Numbered] Out Of Print

KISS - The Solo Albums ; Gene Simmons [Japan SHM-CD remastered Limited Numbered] Out Of Print full

These have been requested several times; the 1978 KISS ‘solo albums’ from each band member in its Japan SHM-CD pressing. Many of you reported finding fake SHM-CD rips all over the net, so here’s the real deal, the numbered limited edition of each including full artwork.
For “Gene Simmons” the KISS Army was waiting for a down-n-dirty, rumbling metal monster, but while Gene’s album some of KISS style hard rock (“Radioactive”), there’s Beatle-esque acoustic noodling (“Mr. Make Believe” and “See You Tonight”) and a orchestrated string songs and other studio trickery.

Gene makes it clear that The Demon had already “gone Hollywood” by ’78, as evidenced by the many guest appearances by celebrities like Gene’s then-girlfriend Cher, ’70s pop star Helen Reddy (!) and Casablanca Records stablemate Donna Summer. Fun fact: a then-unknown Kate Sagal, later of “Married With Children” and “Sons of Anarchy” fame, appears on Gene’s album as a backup vocalist!
Now, listening this album in perspective, it’s fun, showcasing an artist with much more than hard rock party anthems into his mind.


01 – Radioactive
02 – Burning Up With Fever
03 – See You Tonite
04 – Tunnel Of Love
05 – True Confessions
06 – Living In Sin
07 – Always Near You / Nowhere To Hide
08 – Man Of 1000 Faces
09 – Mr. Make Believe
10 – See You In Your Dreams
11 – When You Wish Upon A Star

Gene Simmons – vocals, guitars
Neil Jason – bass
Elliot Randall – guitars
Allan Schwartzberg – drums
Sean Delaney – percussion, backing vocals
Eric Troyer – piano and vocals
Steve Lacey – guitars on “Radioactive”
John Shane Howell – classical guitar
Richard Gerstein – piano
Joe Perry – guitars on “Radioactive” & “Tunnel of Love”
Bob Seger – backing vocals
Rick Nielsen – guitars on “See You in Your Dreams”
Helen Reddy – background vocals on “True Confessions”
Jeff “Skunk” Baxter – guitars
Donna Summer – background vocals
Janis Ian – backing vocals on the “Prelude to Radioactive”
Cher – spoken word phone call on “Living in Sin”
Michael Des Barres – background vocals
Richie Ranno – guitars on “Tunnel of Love”
Gordon Grody, Diva Gray, Kate Sagal, Franny Eisenberg, Carolyn Ray – backing vocals


Out Of Print

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.