MINDLESS SINNER – Turn On The Power [Remastered reissue +5] (2021) *EXCLUSIVE*

MINDLESS SINNER - Turn On The Power [Remastered reissue +5] (2021) full

A cult act from the Swedish early ’80s Scandinavian metal scene, MINDLESS SINNER will get their second LP “Turn On The Power” reissued & remastered. The album was recorded in 1984, but released in 1986. As extras, we added the demos the band taped in 1986 (excellent sound quality).
Some AOR collectors will remember this band with its name shortened to ‘Mindless’, releasing a very good Melodic Rock album at the end of the 80s.
However at the time of “Turn On The Power” was purely influenced by the NWOBHM sound, with a melodic side including some keyboards and catchy choruses, but a traditional style akin JUDAS PRIEST, 220 VOLT, PRAYING MANTIS, IRON MAIDEN, etc…

“Turn On The Power” is a little NWOBHM gem that should be more known. Sing out-loud choruses? Check. Classic ’80s metal riffs? Check. Simplistic yet awesome solos? You bet.
From the opening track, you know what you’re going to get form Mindless Sinner. Heck, the chorus of “We Go Together” can pretty much describe their career, but it’s a formula that is well executed.
Like virtually all other traditional metal bands, the lyrics here are dumb fun. It happens with all this kind of stuff now in perspective 35 years later: it makes you remember the darn good times.

On “Turn On The Power”, the music is the highlight and focus of these songs. The riffs are strong and, with help from Christer Göransson’s singing, give each of the songs a sense of energy and urgency. As strong as the riffs are, they aren’t the focus. The riffs build / lead up to the chorus. That’s what this band is, chorus-oriented hard n’ heavy.

By traditional heavy metal standards, this album has a good amount of variation. Songs such as “Tears of Pain”, “Voice of the Doomed”, and “Left Out on my Own” really break the ‘metal formula’. “Voice of the Doomed” has a hammer-on riff, and has a lot darker feel to it than the albums other material, a good break from the norm. “Left Out on my Own” has a normal riff then sing-along chorus but is a lot more emotional than the other songs.
Last up, “Tears of Pain” is a real metal ballad, it has a very nice sad atmosphere.

In 2001 the album was put on CD with 5 unreleased songs, to help promote their reunion. These are added here by 0dayrox a extras.
Slightly more melodic, all are fairly good and worth listening to. Songs like “Point Below Zero” beat most of what was actually put on the album (which, by the way, was recorded two years before, 1984).

“Turn On The Power” is strong, catchy, classic 80s metal with melody, solid songwriting and production. A product of the times, nostalgic but fun.
Highly Recommended


01 – We Go Together
02 – I’m Gonna (Have Some Fun)
03 – Turn on the Power
04 – Live and Die
05 – Left Out On My Own
06 – Here She Comes Again
07 – Standing on the Stage
08 – Voice of the Doomed
09 – Tears of Pain
0dayrox extras:
10 – Rock and Roll Man (Demo-86)
11 – A Long Time Ago (Demo-86)
12 – Time of Pleasure (Demo-86)
13 – Step into the Fire (Demo-86)
14 – Point Below Zero (Demo-86)

Christer Göransson – vocals
Magnus Danneblad – lead guitars
Jerker Edman – lead guitars
Christer Carlson – bass
Tommy Johansson – drums


Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.