CHEAP TRICK – The Epic Archive, Vol. 1 [1975-1979]

CHEAP TRICK - The Epic Archive, Vol. 1 [1975-1979] (2015) full

Sony Music / Epic released three CHEAP TRICK rarities compilations entitled “Cheap Trick ; The Epic Archive” something that had been rumored to be in the works for years. The track listing is a must for fans and collectors, this “Cheap Trick The Epic Archive Vol.1” including lots of rare tracks from the early era of the band.

Some of these tracks were included as bonus in the reissues of Cheap Trick’s first four albums, otheres are unreleased, and now you have all here in one package.
We find excellent sound quality of demos recorded at Ardent Studios such as ‘Come On, Come On’ or ‘Taxman, Mr. Thief’, great alternate versions of ‘Stiff Competition’, ‘Surrender’ and the classic ‘Dream Police’ without the string arrangement which sounds more rocking.
There’s a rare instrumental version of ‘Oh Boy’ (which re-discovers the song), plus three previously unreleased tracks from Live At Budokan (also known as Budokan II) that were not included on ‘The Complete Concert’ album because they were from the group’s return to Japan a year later.

“Cheap Trick The Epic Archive” volumes are a pot of gold for collectors, and a great melodic bunch of very good Cheap Trick material.
Highly Recommended


01 – Come On, Come On – Ardent Studios Demo
02 – Southern Girls – Ardent Studios Demo
03 – Taxman, Mr. Thief – Ardent Studios Demo
04 – You’re All Talk – Early Studio Version
05 – I Want You To Want Me – Early Studio Version
06 – Lookout – Studio Version
07 – I Dig Go-Go Girls – Outtake
08 – Oh Boy – Instrumental Version
09 – You’re All Talk – Live At The Whiskey
10 – Goodnight – Live At The Whiskey
11 – Stiff Competition – Alternate Version
12 – Surrender – Alternate Version
13 – Ain’t That A Shame – Live (Single Edit)
14 – Dream Police – No Strings Version
15 – Stiff Competition – Live At Budokan (previously unreleased)
16 – How Are You – Live At Budokan (previously unreleased)
17 – Top Of The World – Live At Budokan (previously unreleased)

Robin Zander – lead vocals, rhythm guitar
Rick Nielsen – lead guitar, piano, backing vocals
Tom Petersson – bass, backing vocals
Bun E. Carlos – drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.