BOMBAY BLACK – ¡En Fuego! (2023)

BOMBAY BLACK - ¡En Fuego! (2023) - full

The long wait is over. No big build. No teasers. Just an unexpected tap on the shoulder followed by a haymaker when you turn around. Welcome back (although they never really left) not just another band from L.A. , but some bad boys from Arkansas, and one of the best kept secrets in rock n’ roll… BOMBAY BLACK.
They are back with their 8th release, ”¡En Fuego!” on Kivel Records, that pick up where the band left off on the previous album: hard hitting rock n’ roll seasoned with catchy hooks and big vocal harmonies.
This is a band that cannot be categorized so easily. They crank it up to a beat that is certainly their own, while drawing from their arena rock influences. This is a band you just listen to, you go for a ride with them.
14 tracks that will no doubt play responsibility in getting you a speeding ticket cranking this while heading down the highway. However, this album is more than four on the floor tunes and offers plenty for the listener. With their in-your-face tunes, to upbeat anthems that you will find yourself singing along to. Along with some groove laden mid-tempo tunes.
There is something for everyone, as every box for a Rock N’ Roll album is checked on ”¡En Fuego!” (On Fire! in Spanish).

BOMBAY BLACK has enought humor to laugh at themselves with melodic rocker ‘Just Another Band From L.A.’ complete with cowbell et all. ‘(I Love It When You) Call Me Names’ is just another fun melodic rocker with an ’80s sleazy vibe. Then ‘Makes Me The Devil’ is darker and with a more early 90s atmosphere, heavier.
The Eighties are back with the groovy hard rockin’ ‘All You Need Is A Heartbeat’, and the poppy metal of ‘No Sex B4 Breakfast’ where the band adds some shuffle.
More anthemic stuff appears with ‘One of My Kind’, a killer groove on ‘Karma Train’, and a punchy chorus and cool lyrics on closer ‘Best Nights of Our Lives’.

All sewed up nicely by the clear production of Ty Sims (House of Lords, Robin Beck, James Christian, Tango Down) who also play some instruments on the album.
If you like your melodic rock music on 11 and your gas pedal pinned to the floor, then you have just found the perfect soundtrack to your summer road trip. Now pop it in and leave some skid marks behind as that first chord rings out.
Highly Recommended


01 – The Trailer
02 – Just Another Band From L.A.
03 – Annie Loves Jayne
04 – (I Love It When You) Call Me Names
05 – Makes Me The Devil
06 – Benefits
07 – All You Need Is A Heartbeat
08 – The Body
09 – No Sex B4 Breakfast
10 – Sick of Myself
11 – Devil’s In The Details
12 – One of My Kind
13 – Karma Train
14 – Best Nights of Our Lives

Erik Johnson – Lead Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards, Drums
Justin Velte – Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals
Ty Sims – Bass, Backing Vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.