THE DEAD DAISIES – The Dead Daisies (2013)

THE DEAD DAISIES - The Dead Daisies (2013) full

Some kind of a super-group, THE DEAD DAISIES have released their self-titled debut while touring the US presenting the album.
Formed around the core of Australians Jon Stevens (Noiseworks, INXS) and David Lowy (The Angels, Mink), the combo features current Guns ‘N Roses guitarist Richard Fortus, Darryl Jones (The Rolling Stones) on bass, drummer Charley Drayton (Divinyls, Cold Chisel, The Cult) and Guns ‘N Roses talented keyboardist Dizzy Reed.
The Dead Daisies past members and collaborators included the likes of Marco Mendoza (Thin Lizzy), Brian Tichy (Whitesnake), Frank Ferrer (Guns ‘N Roses), Alex Carapetis (Nine Inch Nails), Alan Mansfield and more, but the final line-up is the mentioned above which has recorded the album and completed a string of shows as a special guest on Aerosmith’s recent Australian tour before hitting the US stages.

The Dead Daisies plays Classic Rock, pure and simple, described by Stevens as “Bad Company meets earlier Foreigner via the Faces — big choruses, powerful melodies and strong hooks”.
And indeed that’s what I hear blended with traditional Hard Rock from the ‘70s and ‘80s on this soulful album recorded with L.A. based engineer, producer and multi-instrumentalist John Fields (The Rembrandts, Goo Goo Dools).
This album is filled with top class musicianship, including “Lock ‘N’ Load”, the first single co-written by Slash. Guitars on this track are incredibly melodic and bluesy but they still contain that hard rock sound & drive that Slash is known for, as he plays as guest as well. It is also the longest track on the CD with a couple of impressive solos.

When I say ‘long track’ I am talking about four minutes. This is another great virtue (and effectiveness) of “The Dead Daisies”; the rest of the songs are short, to the point and varied, just pure 3 minutes of good rock ‘n roll one after another.
“It’s Gonna Take Time” and “Yesterday” are two more exploration numbers that reminded me a bit of Zakk Wylde’s Pride & Glory, including a little southern feel and hard rock vibes.
“Yeah Yeah Yeah”, “Tomorrow” and “Writing On The Wall” continue to impress with the guitar playing. There is a nice mix between fast-paced strumming, acoustic and electric chords, and hot riffs. The rhythm section sets the tone of each song, allowing the guitars to follow.

The commercial (yet firmly classic rock rooted) semi-ballad “Can’t Fight This Feeling” features a slow drumbeat that holds down the rhythm. Snare rolls keep the mood light in “Bible Row” and set the quick roll in “Talk To Me”, one of the highlights. Another favorite song on the album is “Washington”. Keyboards and percussion start the song off before the combination of dynamic electric & acoustic guitars and vocals kick in. A great Classic Rock number.

THE DEAD DAISIES - The Dead Daisies (2013) band photo

With all the hype surrounding them, The Dead Daisies does not disappoints with their very good self-titled debut.
Their concocted weave of seventies-to-eighties bluesy classic rock and hard rock is entertaining and occasionally explorative. Stevens and Lowy have undeniable passion on what they do, and they do it really well.
Jon Stevens is an expert in mixing finesse with knuckle-down in his chops. Even when the album taps along with squishy and smooth hummers, Stevens lends a subtle fang overtop, keeping a dirty verve that’s accented by Lowy’s bluesy lags.
“The Dead Daisies” is a highly recommended, healthy dose of soulful Classic Rock.


01. It’s Gonna Take Time
02. Lock ‘N’ Load (featuring Slash)
03. Washington
04. Yeah Yeah Yeah
05. Yesterday
06. Writing On The Wall
07. Miles In Front Of Me
08. Bible Row
09. Man Overboard
10. Tomorrow
11. Can’t Fight This Feeling
12. Talk To Me

Jon Stevens – (Noiseworks, INXS) – vocals
David Lowy (The Angels, Mink) – guitar
Richard Fortus (Guns ‘N Roses) – guitar
Darryl Jones (The Rolling Stones) – bass
Charley Drayton (Divinyls, Cold Chisel) – drums
Dizzy Reed (Guns ‘N Roses) – keyboards



You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi, this is one of the best releases this year – gives me goosbombs. Thanks for sharing.


  2. Anonymous says:

    the link is dead. can you reupload it? thanks in advance

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.