CHEAP TRICK – All Shook Up +9 [Japan BluSpecCD2 remastered miniLP]

CHEAP TRICK - All Shook Up +9 [Japan BluSpecCD2 remastered miniLP] full

Continuing with the excellent CHEAP TRICK Japanese BluSpec CD2 remastered versions – mini-LP paper sleeve collection – with loads of bonus tracks, here’s “All Shook Up“, on this reissue almost featuring a bonus album ‘cos we have no less than 9 bonus tracks, including songs from ‘Heavy Metal’ movie, alternate versions, outtakes, etc.
By the dawn of 1980, Cheap Trick had risen to major star status following the success of ‘At Budokan’ and ‘Dream Police’, both released in 1979 to major critical and commercial triumph. It looked as if the new decade was going to belong to this fab foursome.
The band wanted to make a change while retaining their trademark sound. To help them do this, they called in perhaps the biggest gun in terms of record producers, George Martin, the man behind the board for nearly every note of the Beatles’ recording career.

On paper, it was a match made in heaven. However, despite all the ingredients seemingly in place, ‘All Shook Up’ resulted a considerable change. That is not to say it is anything less than stellar, but the critics and record buying public at large didn’t greet it with arms open wide.
The album begins with an ominous chord faded in, not unlike the chord that fades out on the Beatles’ “A Day in the Life.” Robin Zander’s voice appears with the plaintive line, “Well I can’t stop the music / I could stop it before / Now I don’t want to hear it / Don’t want to hear it no more” as the band crash in on “Stop This Game.”
It’s Cheap Trick to be certain, but it’s got a different gleam to it making the listener aware this is not last year’s model.

Released as the first single, “Stop This Game” was originally titled “Can’t Stop the Music,” it was changed so as not to cause confusion with the recently released Village People movie of the same title.
The big rumble of “Just Got Back” is followed by the Kinks-meets-Clash riffing of “Baby Loves to Rock,” making for a triumphant opening.
Elsewhere “World’s Greatest Lover” is a Beatlesque ballad written from the perspective of a soldier trapped in a foxhole in World War I. Though a demo exists with guitarist / songwriter Rick Nielsen singing, Zander retained his role and turns in a magnificent vocal. The demo version with Nielsen on lead vocals is betweent the bonus tracks.

“High Priest of Rhythmic Noise” roars in as a sort of semi-futuristic hard rocker while “Love Comes A-Tumblin’ Down” is a flat-out riff-heavy riot that pays subtle tribute to the recently departed Bon Scott. George Martin even gets in on the action with a spoken word section.
One of the album’s best moments comes in the form of the brilliantly titled “I Love You Honey but I Hate Your Friends” which shows them doing their best Faces slop-and-stomp. “Go for the Throat (Use Your Own Imagination)” explodes with some growling bass thunder from Tom Petersson.
But it was during the sessions for the album that Petersson began growing dissatisfied with the way things were going with his role in the group. He would leave the band as the LP was hitting store shelves.

Perhaps inspired by Fleetwood Mac’s Tusk, “Who D’ King?” ends the album on a bizarre note that features nothing but several drum and percussion tracks with rousing chanting over the top. A moment for Bun to shine? Perhaps. A moment to just get weird and have fun? More likely.

Despite the low turnout at the record stores and mixed critical reaction, ”All Shook Up” succeeds as a great Cheap Trick album. It found the band trying to experiment without losing their stamp, or their minds, and it proved that just having someone like George Martin at your right hand doesn’t make for a sure thing.
Ultimately, the album has held up very well since its release and stands as an important and very rocking chapter in the Cheap Trick story.



01 – Stop This Game
02 – Just Got Back
03 – Baby Loves To Rock
04 – Can’t Stop It But I’m Gonna Try
05 – World’s Greatest Lover
06 – High Priest Of Rhythmic Noise
07 – Love Comes A-Tumblin’ Down
08 – I Love You Honey But I Hate Your Friends
09 – Go For The Throat (Use Your Own Imagination)
10 – Who D’King
11 – World’s Greatest Lover (Single version)
12 – Oh Boy (Vocal version)
13 – I Need Love (Demo)
14 – Loser (Demo)
15 – Reach Out (From ‘Heavy Metal’ original soundtrack)
16 – I Must Be Dreamin’ (‘Heavy Metal’ original soundtrack)
17 – Everything Works If You Let It (Extended alternate version)
18 – World’s Greatest Lover (Demo – Rock vocal)
19 – Tone Tape (Bonus track)

Robin Zander – lead vocals, rhythm guitar
Rick Nielsen – lead guitar, backing vocals
Tom Petersson – bass, backing vocals
Bun E. Carlos – drums, percussion
George Martin – arranger, producer, piano



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.