TANTRIC – The Sum Of All Things (2021)

TANTRIC - The Sum Of All Things (2021) full

TANTRIC are one of the most distinctive bands to emerge in the wake of the post-grunge explosion, a band fronted by vocal powerhouse Hugo Ferreira, whose unmistakable baritone rasp can be heard on the band’s massive hit singles from 2001, “Breakdown” and “Down And Out.”
After many years on hiatus, now Ferreira and company, including guitarist Sebastian LaBar (son of the recently disappeared Cinderella guitarist Jeff LaBar), bassist Jaron Gulino, and drummer Jason Hartless, are about to roar back to life with an impressively heavy and deeply emotional album, ”The Sum Of All Things”.

The album is the product of a new partnership between the band, veteran producer Chuck Alkazian and LA-based label Cleopatra Records, and it certainly measures up to its title as it represents a culmination of all that Tantric have been working toward in their 20+ year career.
Not only does the album include new songs that reveal a noticeable growth in the band’s songwriting with strong melodic hooks and poetic lyrics, but also finds the Tantric re-recording the aforementioned breakout hit singles in a new fashion.

After listening to the opener ‘Alone’ you can see why Ferreira is know for his singing, as he has a deep tone and does plenty of vocal acrobatics throughout the album. The other key element of Tantric’s sound is their use of vocal harmonics and a precise, crisp guitar sound.
Sound wise listening to this album the names Nickelback and Shinedown keep coming to mind, especially on ‘Compound’ and ‘Walk That Way’. However, Tantric hass a less commercial approach, with the songs ‘leaving more’ on you.

‘Twisting and Turning’ is a proper modern rock banger with a massive chorus. It has a relentless riff and chorus. At the other end of the scale ‘Can’t Find This’ is a powerful ballad, made a little more special by Ferreira’s vocals and the piano intro.
Tantric have also re-recording three of their older songs of which ‘Breakdown’ is the stand out. ‘Down and Out’ sounds different as it features violin (played by Marcus Ratzenboeck who is no longer in the band) vying with the guitar and pounding rhythm.

A very solid, elaborated album plenty of interesting arrangements and melody, with a modern sound yet not plastic or calculated.
Highly Recommended


01 – Alone
02 – Walk That Way
03 – Twisting and Turning
04 – Can’t Find This
05 – Living Here Without You
06 – Take Me I’m Broken
07 – The Words to Say
08 – Compound
09 – Pushover
10 – Ten Years
11 – The Sum of All Things
12 – Breakdown (Re-Recorded)
13 – Down and Out (Re-Recorded)
14 – Whiskey and You (Bonus Track)

Hugo Ferreira, – vocals, guitar
Sebastian LaBar – guitars
Jaron Gulino – bass
Jason Hartless – drums



1 Response

  1. Jayman says:

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!You are the man! Thanks for this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.