MISSDEMEANOR – Once Upon A Crime [1991 / Previously Unreleased]

MISSDEMEANOR - Once Upon A Crime [1991 / Previously Unreleased] full

As requested, here’s “Once Upon A Crime“, the debut album from NY all-female hard rockers MISSDEMEANOR, originally to be released on CNR Records in 1991 but never saw the light of day due to bankruptcy issues within the label. After many years, Demon Doll Records finally released all the recording sessions consisting of 14 tracks, remastered.
Originally formed in the mid-Eighties they were an edgy US metal act, then switched to commercial melodic hard rock at the end of the decade, with a sound between Femme Fatale and Vixen.

Known for their high-energy shows and solid musicianship, MissDemeanor stood out above the many indie bands of the late ’80s and early ’90s. Garnering a large fan base and countless positive press reviews that comprise, vocals compared to “Rob Halford and Klaus Meine”, along with musical accolades and live performance praise such as, “From the hot guitar work to the steady, hard-driving drums, this here is a hot live band of competent rocking ladies.”

This fierce foursome played a relentless schedule of gigs up and down the East Coast, including Canada. MissDemeanor has shared the stage with Extreme, Kix, EZO, Steve Steven’s Atomic Playboys, Enuff Z’ Nuff, Wendy O. Williams Plasmatics, Shotgun Messiah, and Babes In Toyland, just to name a few. They were the “house band” at the Stone Pony opening for various acts including, Marillion, and were regulars at the various “hot” clubs of the time including, CBGB, The Limelight, Hammerjacks, L’Amour and L’Amour East, Birch Hill, Red Spot, China Club and The Cat Club.

These ladies rock hard on songs like ‘Concrete Jungle’, ‘Have Mercy’, ‘Crosstown Traffic’ and add a lot of catchiness on others such as ‘Bad Influence’ or ‘Hot Love’, not afraid to add spots of synths, sax, mandolin, etc.
‘Once Upon A Crime’ showcases a band with lots of potential – there were many all-female hard rock acts at the time, but MissDemeanor had a special touch, some kind of a ‘melodic edge’ and strong songwriting.
A really good, interesting release for all female fronted rock fans out there.
Highly Recommended

Only at 0dayrox


01 – Give Me All Your Love
02 – Concrete Jungle
03 – No More Lies
04 – Bad Influence
05 – Have Mercy
06 – Walking Alone
07 – Live Wire
08 – Hot Love
09 – Crosstown Traffic
10 – Victim
11 – Drive
12 – Separate Ways
13 – Aria
14 – Living With Desire

Jackie Cerone – Lead Vocals
Linda McSherry – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Jeanette Jones – Bass, Backing Vocals
“Jojo” Tubeato – Drums, Backing Vocals
Toby Kasaban – Keyboards, Synths
Robert Leach – Sax



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.