SAGA – House Of Cards [Remastered reissue 2021] HQ

SAGA - House Of Cards [Remastered reissue 2021] HQ full

Over 40 years have passed since Canadian melodic prog-rock band SAGA released their self-titled debut album. Since then, they have been an exceptional musical phenomenon and toured the globe various times — all the while selling over 10 million albums worldwide.
Their sonic trademarks – synthesizer harmonies, keyboard-guitar riffs, melodic arrangements, and the charismatic vocals of frontman Michael Sadler – have made Saga an influential rock act of the modern era.
In 2021, earMUSIC is celebrating the band’s four-decade legacy launching a reissue series exquisitely remastered and these “must own” releases will be welcome additions to the musical libraries of the Saga faithful.
Produced by keyboardist Jim Crichton and recorded in L.A., “House Of Cards” got a bigger and more transparent sound than previous record ‘Full Circle’, with the songs more AORish and easy listening.

“House Of Cards” showcases Saga’s mainstream side, melodic rock&pop but still progressive. There’s brilliant earworms on “Always There”, “Only Human”, “We’ll Meet Again” and “Money Talks, all with strong melodies & hooks.
Then we find the very atmospheric sounding “Ashes to Ashes (Chapter 11)”, the typical Saga track “God Knows”, or the anthemic “That’s How We Like It”. There isn’t any wake point to call at all, every song is on the same high level.

More ‘progressive’ Saga fans would say “House Of Cards” isn’t their best album, however lovers of the Canadians more melodic, AORish side, will enjoy this album which also includes, by the way, a lot of proggy moments / arrangements.
Highly Recommended


01 – God Knows
02 – The Runaway
03 – Always There
04 – Ashes to Ashes (Chapter 11)
05 – Once in a Lifetime
06 – Only Human
07 – That’s How We Like It!
08 – Watching the Clock
09 – We’ll Meet Again (Chapter 15)
10 – Money Talks
11 – House of Cards

Michael Sadler – lead and backing vocals, keyboards
Ian Crichton – guitars, backing vocals
Jim Gilmour – keyboards, backing and lead vocals
Jim Crichton – bass, keyboards
Steve Negus – drums, percussion



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Rudio says:

    And again: Thank you!
    (I’ll keep my fingers crossed for the rest) 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.