BLACKFOOT – Flyin’ High [Rock Candy remastered & reloaded] *0dayrox Exclusive*

BLACKFOOT - Flyin' High [Rock Candy remastered & reloaded] *0dayrox Exclusive* full

Many of you have been asking for missing Rock Candy remastered & reloaded reissues to complete collections, and here’s the requested, never posted before BLACKFOOT‘s terrific album “Flyin’ High“.
This is BLACKFOOT second album, and for many their best, because here the band while still melodic, come raw & rockin’, part Lynyrd Skynyrd and part Led Zeppelin, helping to consolidate a style that would later springboard them to international acclaim in the ’80s.
And despite its ‘straight-from-the-amp’ sound, “Flyin’ High” sounds stupendous for a 1976 recording, ahead of its time for this kind of bands. This has been capitalized by Andy Pearce to obtain a big, clean remaster.

Hailing from Jacksonville, Blackfoot’s rise to prominence was, like so many others, both slow and painful. Front man and leader Ricky Medlocke even left the band for a while to drum with an early incarnation of Lynyrd Skynyrd before reforming Blackfoot prior to the recording of their debut album for Island Records and moving over to the Epic label for this, their second, release.

With three Native American Indians in their line-up, Blackfoot’s sound was heavily southern rock influenced, but with a hard rocking spirit into the veins.
Recorded at the famed Muscle Shoals studio in Alabama, with notable session musicians David Hood and Jimmy Johnson at the production helm, ‘Flyin’ High’ was originally released in 1976 and remains a terrific example of a band finding not only their style but also their future.

There are some very impressive tunes on this album. “Save Your Time” has a nasty riff and some tasty harmony guitars while “Island of Life” sees Blackfoot creating the template for songs to come, including “Highway Song.” “Junkie’s Dream” sees the band incorporate a straight hard rock riff into their sound, sowing the seeds of their future.
“Try a Little Harder” is a ballad, and as soon as I heard it, I thought, THAT is the classic Blackfoot sound. It’s a great piece of music.

And then closer “Mother” is a slow tune too, but acoustically based. It’s simply one of the best and unknown rock song from the ’70s, which still sounds relevant today. Thanks to the great remastering, it feels like recorded yesterday.
Highly Recommended

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


01 – Feelin’ Good
02 – Flyin’ High
03 – Try A Little Harder
04 – Stranger On The Road
05 – Save Your Time
06 – Dancin’ Man
07 – Island Of Life
08 – Junkie’s Dream
09 – Madness
10 – Mother

Rickey Medlocke – lead vocals, guitars
Charlie Hargrett – guitars
Greg T. Walker – bass, keyboards, backing vocals
Jakson Spires – drums, percussion, backing vocals
Suzy Storm, Laura Struzick – backing vocals



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. edvard kos says:

    One of my favorite band.Thank you so much…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.