EVANESCENCE – Fallen 20th Anniversary (Deluxe Edition / Remastered 2023)

EVANESCENCE - Fallen 20th Anniversary (Deluxe Edition / Remastered 2023) - full

Celebrating the 20th anniversary of EVANESCENCE‘s storming 2002 debut ”Fallen”, the band is releasing this newly remastered Deluxe 2-CD set including the singles “My Immortal,” “Going Under,” “Everybody’s Fool” and the Grammy-winning smash hit, “Bring Me To Life.”
The expanded set also includes a trove of bonus material – ten tracks in all – comprising previously unreleased tracks and live recordings, plus a selection of rare B-sides, alongside re-imagined artwork.
The main album sounds bigger now with the remastering treatment. And the bonus material is very interesting, especially the alternate, quite different versions of the hits.

“Bring Me to Life” big single is featured here in four versions. The first is the original, and then there’s one from an AOL session recorded in April 2003, a live acoustic performance in 2000 and a previously unreleased demo, without the male vocalist, Paul McCoy.

“Bring Me to Life”‘s demo version is an album highlight. It truly sounds different than the final song, with highly processed vocals and brooding synth sounds that didn’t make it onto the single. The song begins with distorted vocals and synths, which welcome Lee’s strong vocals and Moody’s complex guitar work. Without McCoy’s rapping in the bridge, that space is filled with a blues-tinged, ripping guitar solo. While the essence of the song is intact, this demo version is truly something that contrasts with the song that we’ve heard for two decades.

An acoustic, live version of “Going Under” is another standout. This song is usually electrified and very aggressive. Instead, the reissue includes a version recorded live in Madrid. Hearing Lee’s wailing vocals amid acoustic guitars really shows her voice’s unique qualities.
The set closes with a 2022 live performance of “My Immortal”. The fact that EVANESCENCE include a recent version of this song shows “Fallen”‘s enduring nature, as “My Immortal” was met with just as much excitement from the crowd in 2022 as it was back when it first dropped.

“Fallen” will always have an audience. Its themes of pain, loss, heartache and triumph will never wane or go out of style. This set is a noble celebration of something that’s more than an album; it’s a musical moment in time that will never be lost.
Highly Recommended


CD 1
01 – Going Under (Remastered 2023)
02 – Bring Me To Life (Remastered 2023)
03 – Everybody’s Fool (Remastered 2023)
04 – My Immortal (Remastered 2023)
05 – Haunted (Remastered 2023)
06 – Tourniquet (Remastered 2023)
07 – Imaginary (Remastered 2023)
08 – Taking Over Me (Remastered 2023)
09 – Hello (Remastered 2023)
10 – My Last Breath (Remastered 2023)
11 – Whisper (Remastered 2023)

CD 2
12 – My Immortal (Band Version / Remastered 2023)
13 – Breathe No More (Remastered 2023)
14 – Farther Away (Remastered 2023)
15 – Missing (Remastered 2023)
16 – My Immortal (Strings Version / Remastered 2023)
17 – Bring Me To Life (Demo / Remastered 2023)
18 – Bring Me To Life (AOL Session / 2003 / Remastered)
19 – Going Under (Live Acoustic / 2003 / Remastered)
20 – Bring Me To Life (Live On Triple M’s Garage Session / 2020 / Remastered 2023)
21 – My Immortal (Live At O2 Arena / 2022 / Remastered 2023)


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.