SCORPIONS – Taken By Force (50th band anniversary Deluxe Edition) *HQ*

SCORPIONS - Taken By Force (50th band anniversary Deluxe Edition) *HQ* - full

To celebrate their 50th band anniversary, SCORPIONS released the 50th Anniversary Deluxe Editions of all their most famous albums. 1965 marks the starting point of one of the most successful rock bands of our time. Hailing from Hannover, Germany, SCORPIONS embarked on a journey that would lead them around the globe and would establish them as one of the greatest rock bands of all time.
For the occasion Scorpions open their vaults to unleash hitherto unreleased songs, alternative versions of big hits, unreleased concerts and more.
In addition to dozens of unheard studio tracks and live recordings, all albums are remastered, equipped with extended booklets featuring rare photos and single covers, backstage passes and additional liner notes by Edgar Klüsener, a former editor in chief of Metal Hammer who has followed the band’s career closely over several decades.

Taken By Force“, Scorpions’ 5th studio album was the last studio recording featuring Uli Jon Roth on guitar, who left the band for a solo career. He was replaced by Matthias Jabs and ‘some guy’ entered the band: crazy drummer Herman Rarebell.
For many, “Taken By Force” is one of the best (and most influential) hard rock albums from the second half of Seventies. Imagine taking the beautiful progressive compositions displayed on Scorpion’s debut album, and mixing it with a harder, yet more refined sound. All of them are played with such melodic complexion, yet a harder edge at the same time.

“We’ll Burn The Sky” is probably the greatest example of this, mostly because of the solo in the outro, but it’s the excellent guitar work combining soft parts with faster riffs. The same can be said about the bass on here, as it’s very audible and plays such a large role in the musical make-up.

SCORPIONS - Taken By Force (50th band anniversary Deluxe Edition) (2015) cd photo

On “Taken By Force” we see a lot of signs of a more powerful approach, and what one would expect in the ’80s Scorpions records. If you’re not that familiar with Scorpions, I would highly recommend this one as a starter. With a variety of guitar sounds and vocal work, this album sure packs in a lot of beautiful tunes all across the spectrum.
A brilliant culmination of the Uli Jon Roth years, a hugely influential album for following metal subgenres and movements, and true masterpiece of talent, creativity and musicianship.
This 2015 remaster is excellent, plus 6 bonus tracks including the B-Side “Suspender Love”.
Highly Recommended


01. Steamrock Fever
02. We’ll Burn The Sky
03. I’ve Got To Be Free
04. The Riot Of Your Time
05. The Sails Of Charon (original long version)
06. Your Light
07. He’s A Woman – She’s A Man
08. Born To Touch Your Feelings
09. Suspender Love (B-Side)
10. Busy Guys (Unreleased Version)
11. Believe In Love (Unreleased Version)
12. Midnight Blues Jam (Unreleased)
13. Blue Dream (Unfinished Instrumental Version)
14. Born To Tuch Your Feelings (Unreleased Version)

Klaus Meine – lead vocals
Ulrich Roth – guitars, backing vocals
Rudolf Schenker – guitars, backing vocals
Francis Buchholz – bass guitar, backing vocals
Herman Rarebell – drums, percussion, backing vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.